“Life’s like a Movie, Write Your Own Ending…” ~ Words of Wisdom From The Muppets

Life’s like a movie, write your own ending
Keep believing, keep pretending
We’ve done just what we set out to do.
Thanks to the lovers, the dreamers, and you.

“The Magic Store”/Rainbow Connection” (Reprise) – Kermit and the Muppets

My kids have been watching The Muppet Movie a lot lately, and this ending (lyrics above) always makes me teary-eyed. Every time I see this part, all I can think about is that these lyrics had to be a testimony for Jim Henson (even if he didn’t write them himself). Every word of these lyrics strike a chord for me.

When I watched this again, something struck me that I never thought about before. The Muppets are making their little movie, all planned out nicely on a movie set, and then chaos strikes — Gonzo’s balloons go out of control and the whole set ends up in ruins, and an explosion busts a hole in the roof. However, a rainbow descends through that hole and lands on the Muppet crowd who watch in awe. This scene makes me think that sometimes it takes an act of chaos in our lives to bring us toward our dreams, and also to make notice of those rainbows in our lives that hover above, otherwise unnoticed.

I’m trying to make more notice of the rainbows in my life ~ those daily miracles.

Ask yourself what YOUR rainbows are ~ big and small. I hope you find one today!

One thought on ““Life’s like a Movie, Write Your Own Ending…” ~ Words of Wisdom From The Muppets

  1. You know – I’m so down with that. When I was a child, I thought it was a sad ending. “They wanted to make a movie and it was ruined.” But NO – what you say above is absolutely true. They went to make a movie, and chaos simply “blew the roof apart” and made them realize that what they had discovered was big, bigger than any dream they’d had before. It wasn’t a set-back – it was a confirmation! A reawakening! Their journey had just begun!

Leave a Reply

