Camp Nanowrimo – Writing Frenzy!

I’ve been NaNoWriMo-ing it this summer!

If you are a writer who needs some motivation, definitely check out Nanowrimo (November) and Camp Nanowrimo (June and August).

I participated for the first time this June in Camp Nano and am getting very excited that I’m finally making progress on my writing. The goal of Nanowrimo is to write 50,ooo words in 30 days. Yep. Quite a bold goal.

I didn’t get to the 50k goal, but happy enough to get a total of SIX new chapters for my memoirs!!! My memoirs have been quite dusty these days and I’m just happy to make ANY progress. So I feel VICTORIOUS!!

In my excitement to get back into my memoirs, I decided to push myself even further by creating a website to track my progress, keep myself accountable, and simply do something FUN to motivate me forward.

So…

What has lit this fire? Why am I doing this when I already have a full time job, two kids, and a developing side-biz? Am I not busy enough already?

Um… yeah.

But here’s the thing…

I promised myself I’d finish my memoir by the time my kids were old enough to read it… and my almost-seven-year-old daughter is already reading grade 2 level chapter books, so I am seriously running out of time!!!

So a big thanks to Camp Nano for the motivation!

Since Nanowrimo is a FREE service, and helps motivate kids as well as adults, I have a donations page for Nanowrimo that I should share with you in case you would like to donate to help them out. HERE IS THE LINK.

Here’s a little video I made about my experience back in June, with really BAD hair, and wearing my jammies:

Leave a Reply

