I Was Born This Way!

“I’m beautiful in my way

‘Cause God makes no mistakes

I’m on the right track, baby

I was born this way
Don’t hide yourself in regret

Just love yourself and you’re set

I’m on the right track, baby

I was born this way”

YEAH, baby! I love it!!!

I’m not a big Lady Gaga fan, but I heard this song on the radio this morning and loved it. If I’d heard it as a teenager, it would have been my theme song. When you’re a teenager, that’s when you realize the most that you are not like anybody else, because that’s a time when everyone else is trying so hard to “fit in” and find their “crowd.

But hey – the more different you are. the harder it is to fit in or even find “your crowd.”

As a teen, my crowd was basically other teens who couldn’t find their crowd either. Those were the people I connected to the most – people who realized it was pointless to fit in, but didn’t go out of their way to be different either. You don’t have to “go goth” or whatever to prove you’re different. That’s what a lot of teens don’t seem to get. All you have to do to embrace your uniqueness is to be YOU. Wear the clothes you feel comfortable in, show off your glasses, wear that purple lipstick and glitzy earrings if you like such things.

One thing I am very happy about is my family taught me to embrace my uniqueness at a young age. I knew very well that I was different, even though I looked normal. I wasn’t interested in pop culture, I loved to read, I didn’t swear, I enjoyed school, I valued my relationship with God and my virginity, I related more to my teachers than to my fellow classmates, and I thought boys were a waste of time (and they really WERE in middle-to-high school, I now realize).

I have my own time-travel website as a write a book series about this time of my life: http://wendybooks.weebly.com/

This seems an appropriate post during Bully Prevention Awareness Month. Stopping kids from teasing each other is nearly impossible, really. What we really need to do is STRENGTHEN our own self esteem and self-image so bullies HAVE NO POWER against us. This song does just that, I believe.

Please share some of your own marvelous eccentricities below if you like!

EMBRACE who you are, baby!

‘Cause you were BORN this way!

One thought on “I Was Born This Way!

Leave a Reply

