NaNoWriMo 2012 – a kick in the butt for writers!

Nanoo Nanoo WriMo!

November is NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), and it’s almost here! This is my first year participating in Nano, and I’m happy to be sharing the experience with my daughter, Rose (Rose is in the Nano Young Writers Program)!

Why am I writing about and promoting Nano so much on my Create-A-Way blog?

Because I feel it’s the perfect motivational tool you can use to finally get moving on that writing project you’ve been thinking about for so long. I think writing is the easiest thing to put off. We give all the excuses in the world NOT to write: a lack of time, energy, ideas, blah, blah…

NaNoWriMo is basically a kick in the butt for writers.

And it’s FREE (as all kicks in the butt should be).

So check out NaNoWrMo and join in on the fun!

Who cares if you don’t get to the 50,000 word goal? How much are you writing NOW? If the answer is ZERO, what do you have to lose? Even if all you write is 5,000 words, that’s 5,000 words that would have never existed if you hadn’t at least tried!

Go for it!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2012 – a kick in the butt for writers!

  1. I’m super excited! I think last year I got to 50,000 but it was the worst 50,000 ever! I’ve been doing it for 8 years now and only got to 50,000 three times. So many times I got to 19,000, 26,000 and 34,000. It’s funny because when i tell people about it, they always say “Oh that’s easy”, but known of them dare try it. Part of the fun and sanity is trying to do it while balancing work/school/family/friends, etc. It’s maddening and insanely, stupid, free fun! lol.

    • WOW! Kudos for reaching 50,000 three times!! I totally agree – balancing it with work, family, etc is a real challenge – but I think it’s the people with such complicated lives who dearly need the Nano motivation – like me!

Leave a Reply

