Nanowrimo: On a QUEST to complete the LONGEST writing project of my LIFE!

I’m participating in Nanowrimo for the first time (I participated in Camp Nanowrimo twice during the summer). Over the summer, my focus was to get as much written for this book series as I could. What started out as a 104-page book in 1987 (I was thirteen) has transformed into a three-book-series for Young Adult Readers.

I am so excited – I have the first two books completed, and thanks to Camp Nano I have four chapters of the third book written as well (edited is another story).

I think it’s neat that this book has been a work-in-progress for so many years. It was shelved for a long time, and then in 2000 I picked it back up to completely rewrite it.

I totally believe in Divine Timing, so I’m not lamenting that it’s taken me this long to finish it. I really believe that some great insights will come while writing and editing now. I can write my book now with an adult’s mind, but through a child’s eyes. And now having children of my own I have an even greater perspective to understand, as I write my parents into my story.

If you’d like to check out what I have written so far on this book series, I have all the chapters available for free on my book website (until I have the whole thing edited). I plan to add illustrations as well to have even more fun with it.

The byline for the book will probably be with my maiden AND married name (Wendy Carrick Fedan) to pay homage to the original author, my 12-year-old self.

If you’re participating in Nanowrimo, you can find me there – my Nano name is “wfedan” – I’d love to meet you and your novel there!

4 thoughts on “Nanowrimo: On a QUEST to complete the LONGEST writing project of my LIFE!

Leave a Reply

