The NaNoWriMo Young Writers Program – Launching my first Young Writers Group!

logoYeah, I know, don’t I have enough going on? Well, I just couldn’t stop myself.

When I realized my daughter was into writing a couple years ago, I totally flipped out. Oh yeah. Cartwheels.

I’ve been a write-a-holic ever since I received my first blank workbook in grade two – well, maybe before then.

I remember before I ever knew how to read, I used to flip through novels on my parents’ bookshelves and try to figure out why words were grouped certain ways (what were paragraphs all about? I wondered).

Yeah, I’m a nerd, all right  🙂 

And my author grandmother would give me recycled paper to type with on her old manual typewriter – it would keep me occupied for hours, and I was slightly annoyed when I would tap too hard on the keys and my “o”s would punch holes through the paper (How does one use white-out over a HOLE in the page?). I sent my first manuscript (104 pages typed) out to publishers when I was thirteen, and got my first pile of rejection letters back the same year.

So of course when my daughter showed interest in writing, OH yeah – I totally FLIPPED and signed her up last year for the YWP. This year I thought it would be fun to try getting more of her friends involved. Luckily she has several brainy friends (that’s my girl) who also have an interest in writing, so I thought we should be able to get a small group together from her classroom. We’ll see how this goes!

2 thoughts on “The NaNoWriMo Young Writers Program – Launching my first Young Writers Group!

  1. Fantastic! I would have loved to have been challenged like that when I was younger. Everyone knew I wanted to write, even my parents but no one ever said – “hey, ever tried to write a full novel? Let’s see if you can finish it” but better late than never right? So I’m starting this year with NaNo, should be fun!

    • Awesome! I was so lucky when I was younger – my grandma not only encouraged me to write in full, but also introduced and explained the book “The Writer’s Market” to me so I could understand the process of how to send my work out to publishers as well! So happy for her guidance! Good luck with Nano this year, Nthato!!! I’m looking forward to flexing my writing muscles as well this month, journeying with Nano as well!

Leave a Reply

