Sunview Star Writers: The LOUDEST and SILLIEST Writers Group EVER!

296788_2296663776599_2935007_n

Na-NOO-Wri-MOO!

This past weekend I had a small group of girls over to my house for what I should call a “writing party.” It was supposed to be a Writers Group meeting, but I kept wanting to stick my head in my daughter’s room and yell over the screams and laughter, “I don’t hear any writing going on in here!”

I had to stop myself, because I knew when you get a group of third grade girls together for a play date, you’re lucky if they end up doing anything constructive. When I peeked in to witness the chaos, I was so happy. Yes, they were joking and laughing and being totally silly… but they were doing all that with their workbooks and journals in front of them. One girl was very determined to write in her book. ย She looked up at me and said “Mrs. Fedan, I’M writing!” I smiled wide and nodded, VERY appreciative. One girl quickly went through all the pages of the workbook and blurted out her funny ideas to the other girls, making them all laugh, and role played one of her character ideas (that was pretty funny). One girl hated the workbook pages I printed out and announced to me loudly, “I’m bored!” My daughter couldn’t stop talking the whole time – it looked like she got a total of three words written in all. But she successfully learned to contort her body into a pretzel and shouted to me between her legs, “WE WANT SNACKS!”

I could say it was a disaster – that I failed miserably as a teacher for them… but teaching about writing wasn’t really the goal for this group get-together.

The purpose for the gathering was REALLY to get the girls together around the theme of writing and just get them to have FUN with the whole writing thing (whatever that means). I really didn’t want to hang over them and say, “Now look here, girls, this is what we’re going to do…”

That would definitely be a FUN-killer!

I want them to keep writing. And how do I make sure that happen? By making them realize writing doesn’t have to be a chore. All it is (at the age of eight), is making things up – using your imagination. This is NOT the time to give their imaginations boundaries, I thought. I don’t want to do that. So the only rule of this Sunview Star Writer Club is to JUST WRITE. Write what? Write anything. Write a journal, write about yourself and your life, write poetry, write a novel, or write a series of short stories. It’s about getting words on the page.

And words can get on the page much more fun with giggles, popcorn and lollypops.

Below, I’m sharing my video to my Sunview Star Writers, and with it is a writing prompt you just might like to try out yourself! ย ๐Ÿ™‚ ย ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Sunview Star Writers: The LOUDEST and SILLIEST Writers Group EVER!

  1. This is great! I think you’re a wonderful teacher. Just “getting words on the page” is perfect. See what happens when they get a few of these under their belts!! Wow, what great writers you’re grooming.

Leave a Reply

